Military Drones (Unmanned Aerial Vehicles)


version française

Military UAVs


A soldier holds a PD-100 mini-UAV during the PACMAN-I experiment in Hawaii. - Individual PD-100 Equipment for soldier.

Besides the Predators and others Reapers, large unmanned aircrafts, the US Army uses also, as the CIA do, a small UAV called PD-100 "Black Hornet". It is a nano-UAV developed by the Norwegian company Prox Dynamics, a subsidiary of FLIR, an US company. Its features and performances make it ideal for a glimpse of a tactical situation or even exert monitoring movements of an opponent in any discretion, especially in urban areas.

Weighing only 25 grams in charge, the Black Hornet is 16 cm long (hence the name "nano-UAV"). It has an autonomy of 20 to 30 minutes and can flight at a speed of 5 meters per second at 10 meters high, it has a chemical or thermal sensor and 3 high resolution cameras: one attached to the front, a second permitting rotation of 45° and a third film for the floor. Recently, an infrared sensor may replace one of them for night missions. It is both very handy and discreet thanks to its electric motor and small size. It can be controlled manually or used in autonomous mode with its autopilot associated with an artificial intelligence taking into account objects, faces or specific situations to adapt his flight profile to the mission.The Version 3 can now evolve without having a GPS connection. It is charged about $ 46,000.

In Afghanistan, it has been used successfully by the British military for the recognition of enemy fighters hidden in a building. It is estimated that some 8,000 units were manufactured and that the Black Hornet is used by thirty countries. The Black Hornet 3 already equips the US and Australian armies. Since 2016, the French army has equipped its troops participating in Operation "Barkhane" in the Sahel and Sahara Black Hornet models of previous generation and the French army ordered now Black Hornet model 3 for $ 89 million.



armed Reaper UAV

Use of UAVs increases in recent years and is now on the way to being used in all the world's armies and may be also by terrorist organizations.
Use of this new form of weapon provokes many debates on their legality or as new component of dehumanized war. Like all new techniques that improve killing at distance, It is more controversial because this decision to kill could eventually not be taken by men but by a programmed system (AI).

Read the excellent web paper part 1 part 2 of Léonard Lifar in "Les Yeux du Monde".



drone russe Okhotnik

The new Russian heavy combat drone Okhotnik , with a mass of about 20 tons, developed by Sukhoi in collaboration with the MiG aircraft construction, will have several missions to accomplish, including the breakthrough of the enemy DCA.
Acting alongside the fifth-generation Su-57 fighter, Russian heavy-combat drone Okhotnik is set to break through the enemy's DCA, Russian media reports said. One of the drone's missions will be to break through the air defense to allow the pilot aircraft to enter, each Su-57 should fly with several drones. The Su-57 crew will be able to control the Okhotnik to allow both aircraft to fly synchronously.
The drone will be tested in flight in spring 2019, as announced by Russian Deputy Minister of Defense Alexei Krivoruchko.


the Chinese Wing Loong UAV

nEUROn : the European demonstrator UAV

RQ-170 Sentinel Unmanned Aerial Vehicle


The Chinese Wing Loong UAV is a combat UAV (MALE) developed by the AVIC firm that looks like the American MQ-9 Reaper but with ammunition carry limited to four points of attachment. It is less efficient than its Western counterparts, particularly in terms of its monitoring and recognition systems, but is also much cheaper. The firm already has clients from the Middle East, including Saudi Arabia and Iran.
A new version was presented at the Paris Air Show in 2017, the Wing Loong II can carry a total mass of 4.2 tons. It has six points of transport to carry air-ground and sea missiles and bombs.

France will arm five of its six MQ-9 Reaper UAVs. In addition, the French Navy is interested in the potential of a future combat UAV embarked on an aircraft carrier via the demonstrator nEUROn . This UAV is 9 meters long with a wingspan of 12.5 meters and a mass of 7 tons. It is the first European UCAV, with two bunkers each designed to house a 250 kg bomb. It is the fruit of a cooperation led by France and Dassault Aviation as prime contractor, with five partner countries and their manufacturers.

The Lockheed Martin RQ-170 is an American reconnaissance UAV, with a design similar to the nEUROn, flying since 2009 in the operation theaters in Afghanistan, Korea and Iran. One of these stealth UAVs was "captured" on December 4, 2011 by Iranian forces.

pierre j.




some military UAVs


To send an email.


Texts of this page are on the responsibility of their author only.
AVIC, Dassault Aviation, General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Prox Dynamics are register or trade marks
Black Hornet, nEUROn, Predator, Reaper, Wing Loong are products of these trade marks

Created September 29th 2016, Updated February 3rd 2019.
V1.0 © Pierre J.

Drones militaires (engins aériens sans pilote)


american content

Drones militaires


un soldat tient un mini-drone PD-100 pendant l'expérimentation PACMAN-I à Hawaii - Equipement portable PD-100 d'un soldat.

Outre les Predators et autres MQ-9 Reapers, avions sans pilote, l'Armée américaine utilise, tout comme la CIA, un petit drone : le PD-100 «Black Hornet». C'est un nano-drone développé par l’entreprise norvégienne Prox Dynamics, filiale de la société américaine FLIR. Ses caractéristiques et ses performances en font l’appareil idéal pour avoir un aperçu d’une situation tactique ou bien encore exercer la surveillance des mouvements d’un adversaire en toute discrétion, notamment en zone urbaine.

D’une masse de seulement 25 grammes en charge, le Black Hornet mesure 16 cm (d’où son appellation de « nano-drone »). Il a une autonomie de 20 à 30 mn et peut évoluer à une vitesse de 5 mètres par seconde, à 10 mètres d’altitude, Il dispose d’un capteur chimique ou thermique ainsi que de 3 caméras haute-résolution : une fixée à l’avant, une seconde permettant une rotation à 45° et une troisième pour filmer le sol. Depuis peu, l’une d’entre elles peut être remplacée par un capteur infrarouge pour les missions nocturnes. Il est à la fois très maniable et discret grâce à sa motorisation électrique et sa petite taille. Il peut être piloté manuellement ou utilisé en mode autonome avec son pilote automatique associé une intelligence artificielle tenant compte des objets, des visages ou des situations spécifiques pour adapter son profil de vol à la mission. La version 3 peut désormais évoluer sans disposer d’une liaison GPS. Il est facturé environ 40 000 euros.

En Afghanistan, il a été utilisé avec succès par les militaires britanniques pour la reconnaissance de combattants ennemis cachés dans un bâtiment. On estime que quelque 8 000 unités ont été fabriquées et que le Black Hornet est utilisé par trente pays. Le Black Hornet 3 équipe déja les armées états-unienne et australienne. Depuis 2016, l’armée française a doté ses troupes participant à l’opération « Barkhane » au Sahel et au Sahara de modèles Black Hornet de précédente génération et a commandé pour 77 millions d’euros du modèle Black Hornet 3.



drone Reaper armé

L’utilisation de drone s’est intensifiée au cours des dernières années et est maintenant en passe d’être généralisée dans toutes les armées du monde, voir dans les organisations terroristes.
L’utilisation de cette nouvelle forme d’arme donne lieu à de nombreux débats sur la légalité de leur utilisation comme élément d’une guerre déshumanisée.
Comme toute nouvelle technique qui vise à améliorer le fait de tuer à distance celle-ci est controversée d’autant plus que cette décision de tuer pourrait a terme ne plus être prise par un être humain mais par un système programmé.
Lire l’excellent article part 1 part 2 de Léonard Lifar dans "Les Yeux du Monde".



drone russe Okhotnik

Le nouveau drone lourd de combat russe Okhotnik, d'une masse d'environ 20 tonnes, mis au point par Sukhoi en collaboration avec la société de construction aéronautique MiG, aura plusieurs missions à accomplir, dont la percée de la DCA ennemie.
Agissant de pair avec le chasseur de cinquième génération Su-57, le drone lourd de combat russe Okhotnik est destiné à percer la DCA ennemie, annoncent les médias russes. Une des missions du drone consistera à percer la défense antiaérienne pour permettre ensuite à l'avion piloté de faire son entrée, chaque Su-57 devrait voler en compagnie de plusieurs drones. L'équipage du Su-57 pourra téléguider l'Okhotnik pour permettre aux deux appareils de voler de manière en régime synchronisée.
Le drone sera testé en vol au printemps 2019, comme l'a annoncé le vice-ministre de la Défense russe Alexeï Krivoroutchko.


le drone chinois Wing Loong

le drone démonstrateur européen nEUROn

le drone de reconnaissance américain RQ-170


Le drone chinois Wing Loong est un drone de combat (MALE) développé par la firme AVIC qui ressemble au MQ-9 Reaper américain mais avec un emport de munitions limité à quatre points d’accroche. Il est moins performant que ses homologues occidentaux, notamment au niveau de ses systèmes de surveillance et de reconnaissance, mais vaut également beaucoup moins cher. La firme compterait déjà des clients provenant du Moyen Orient et notamment l’Arabie saoudite ou l'Iran.
Une nouvelle version a été présentée au salon du Bourget en 2017, le Wing Loong II qui peut emporter une masse totale de 4,2 tonnes. Il dispose de six points d’emports pour transporter des missiles et bombes air-sol et mer.

La France va armer cinq de ses six drones MQ-9 Reaper. Par ailleurs la Marine nationale s’intéresse au potentiel d’un futur drone de combat embarqué sur porte-avions via le démonstrateur nEUROn. Ce drone, long de 9 mètres pour une envergure de 12.5 mètres et une masse de 7 tonnes, est le premier UCAV européen, doté de deux soutes conçues pour abriter chacune une bombe de 250 kg. C'est le fruit d’une coopération menée par la France et Dassault Aviation comme maître d’œuvre, avec cinq pays partenaires et leurs industriels.

Le Lockheed Martin RQ-170 est drone de reconnaissance américain, au design proche du nEUROn, qui vole depuis 2009 sur les théâtres d'opération d'Afghanistan, Corée ou Iran. Un de ces drones furtif a été "capturé" le 4 décembre 2011 par les forces iraniennes.
The RQ-180 is a newer and more imposing stealth American reconnaissance drone that resembles the X47C below with its bat wings.

pierre j.




quelques drones militaires


Pour nous faire part de vos remarques ou envoyer un message.


Les textes de cette page n'engagent que leur auteur et en aucun cas AVIC, Dassault Aviation, General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Prox Dynamics ou les autres marques citées qui sont des marques déposées.
Black Hornet, nEUROn, Predator, Reaper, Wing Loong sont des produits des marques précitées

Créé le 29 septembre 2016, mis à jour le 3 février 2019.
V1.0 © Pierre J.